≡ Menu

Toyota Safety Sense

Toyota Safety Sense | Innovative Safety For All

Watch on YouTube

With pride in its innovation and holistic approach, Toyota Canada Inc. launches Toyota Safety Sense, an advanced series of active safety technologies. Toyota Safety Sense comes in two available packages, Toyota Safety Sense C and Toyota Safety Sense P, and is being offered on almost all 2017 and 2018 models.


A large part of Toyota Safety Sense and its success rests on the knowledge and understanding that Canadian drivers have of these technologies. To ensure that drivers are given an opportunity to educate themselves on these new technologies, Toyota Canada has initiated an education campaign around Toyota Safety Sense going over the power and the limitations that current and emerging safety technologies hold. This campaign will include; training Toyota Dealer staff through a series of training sessions across the country, hosting events that demonstrate the Toyota Safety Sense technologies, offering Toyota customers tools for education about the safety systems, raising awareness of role that new technologies play in automobile safety, and through interaction opportunities that allow Canadians to experience Toyota, its vehicles and its technologies first-hand.


Toyota Safety Sense C and Toyota Safety Sense P offer drivers peace of mind as they work to increase driver awareness and enhance control through an ability to mitigate collisions, help drivers stay in their lanes, and improve nighttime safety. Toyota Safety Sense C is made up of three active safety technologies; Pre-Collision System, Lade Departure Alert, and Automatic High Beams. It comes standard on the following models, starting with the 2017 model year: Toyota Yaris Hatchback, Toyota Prius c and Toyota Corolla iM. Toyota Safety Sense P includes four active safety technologies; Pre-Collision System with pedestrian detection, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, Lane Departure Alert with Steering Assist, and Automatic High Beams. TSS-P is an enhanced safety system as it includes the addition of pedestrian detection and steering assist. It is available on the following models, starting with the 2017 model year: Toyota Corolla, Toyota Prius, Toyota Prius Prime, Toyota RAV4 and RAV4 Hybrid, Toyota Highlander and Highlander Hybrid.


It is not common for advanced safety technologies to be included in the majority of vehicles. As pointed out by Cyril Dimitris, Vice President, Toyota Canada Inc, “advanced safety systems are typically included only on luxury vehicles – but we feel they’re so important that everybody deserves to benefit from them”. As our society moves forward with the most advanced safety capabilities in history, it seems unfortunate that so many vehicles are being built without them. Toyota is the first automaker that has committed to making these advanced systems standard on almost all models and trim levels sold in Canada. For more information on the Toyota Safety Sense, visit your local Greater Vancouver Toyota Dealer – West Coast Toyota.

Randy Saunders
West Coast Toyota

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.